I am quite drawn to this, but will it work?

I’ve fallen in love with a bunch of feathers.

It’s a gray feather capelet from Asos (on clearance for only $20).

I think it’s really sweet, and might work as an accessory for my wedding outfit.  We haven’t completely figured out the neckline of the dress, so this might help dictate that, but I don’t know.  I don’t know if I’d even wear it during the ceremony – maybe just after, and for some of our photos.

There’s also a version in a creamy nude that might be a pretty contrast….

Only $17....

Of course, I may end up looking like Big Bird, because my chest is certainly larger than this model’s, and my shoulders are quite straight and square.

What do you think?  Should I go for the feathers, or leave the frills for the bum ruffles?  Should I have a simpler capelet?  If so, should I rethink the length of my sleeves?

It’s time to work out the details…..Matt and I had a planning session last night that really solidified and simplified A LOT of the planning.  We’ve still got to plan the menu, pick out the music, and actually make most of the stuff, but it’s looking doable.

And awesome.

Can’t forget the awesome.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Planning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am quite drawn to this, but will it work?

  1. Jenni says:

    What if you incorporated feathers into your bouquet or smaller accessories or something? I like this, but I think it would overpower all but the simplest dress… you’ve mentioned such cool details for your dress, and it seems like this might detract form them.

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Actually, I am having feathers in my bouquet – black ones. You’re right about it being overpowering. It’s just so pretty!

      • Jenni says:

        It is pretty. You could always get it and wear it with something else! 🙂

        BTW, I meant from, not form in my first comment. Oops!

  2. Erin says:

    Hmmm…My gut is that it would end-up looking rather voluminous in reality. Though, for only a $20 investment it might be worth it to just get it & see. You could always dis-assemble it & recycle it into something else if you totally hate it 🙂 The feathers are chic & could be totally awesome!

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      hehehe….I kind of want to turn it into a hat. =) Maybe not for the wedding, but it might be fun to play with.

  3. Ingrid says:

    I’m thinking this is cool…but more appropriate for a bird costume…

Leave a Reply

