bridal braids?


As I realize that there’s a ton of decisions I still have to make for the wedding, I’m going to need to bounce ideas off of my loyal readers.  Today’s topic is how I should wear my hair.

So, I’m thinking about braids.  My hair is just about long enough to do Heidi braids – I was sporting them all weekend when we were in Vancouver.  I’m not planning any major length loss between now and then, so it should be 5-6″ longer by that time, and perfect for plaits.  I’m also thinking it should be a little deconstructed, like my dress, and I’ll have a nautical fascinator/veil happening.

What do you think?  Here’s some of my inspiration (note that I am only endorsing these girls’ hairstyles, not their talent, or lack thereof):

Update:  There was some weirdness with this post, and all of my sources and links were removed.  I apologize to anyone I’ve snagged images from – in order for this post to have any braids to show, I had to save them to my computer and upload them, losing the links.

 

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to bridal braids?

  1. Ingrid says:

    Yes. I agree. Some sort of braids are a definite, though I do think that it could be nice to have some of your hair down – in a very romantic turn of the century way…

    • Ginger says:

      Oooh, I like….makes sense, because the back of the dress will be fairly plain. Though I’ve always liked those diamond-shaped backs on dresses worn in Jane Austen film adaptations…do you know what I mean?

  2. Erin says:

    Oooohhh, I love this idea! I like the last pic the best, though I also like what Anne Hathaway has going on there. The Olsen duck-face is cracking me up! BUAHAHA! Anyways, I also like Ingrid’s “leave some hair down” idea.

    In the interest of being practical I’d like to point out that the more secure the ‘do, the longer it will look nice. Especially if being outdoors is in the picture. Nothing like a gust of wind to turn a perfect curl into a fluffy puff. 😉

    • Ginger says:

      Thanks for the practicality! I’m not sure I’m destined for perfect curls, though. It would be much more natural for me to be a fluffy puff!

      What I really need right now is a good trim, and for a stylist to play with things. Hopefully I can schedule that in with Ingrid and her stylist friend sometime soon. I’m looking a little lank at the moment, since my hair is now to the middle of my back when straightened, my bangs are almost completely grown out, and I have split ends from hell!

  3. Jenni says:

    I think that Heidi braids look quaint enough where you don’t need them to be messy to get the right vibe, you know? So, I’m a fan of Demi Moore’s and the last one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

