Yes, we have been productive

but for some reason, it takes about a year and a half to get custom-made postage stamps.  ARGH!

Over Labor Day weekend Matt and my wee sister Audrey and I completed and compiled our save-the-dates, and they’re all sitting neatly in a file box lid, waiting for their postage.  I’m convinced that all postage stamps currently being offered by the United States Postal Service are butt ugly, and so on Sunday we designed and ordered our own using photo.stamps.com.  They’re a little overpriced, sure, but I won’t have the Tazmanian Devil on my wedding stationery.  After about 5 minutes of design and ordering process, they should be arriving in March of 2013.  Well, not really.  They’ll be here early next week, but it feels like forever.  I’m sure they’ll be great, but if you’re considering ever doing this, be sure to give yourself plenty of lead time.

I’ll post photos and process shots as soon as I drop them in the mail.

Other than that….just a few decisions have been made recently regarding my dress.  I know it will be cotton, but I decided that at least the bodice and sleeves should be made of stretch cotton poplin – like what slightly stretchy women’s button-down shirts are made of.  I had nightmares of torn armpits in my dress a few weeks back and wanted some extra security.  Also, though I had talked about using some blue gray accents in the dress, I think I’d like to make it a bit more dramatic.  The entire dress will be dove gray instead of white or off-white.  I’d just feel prettier in that color.  There still might be some blue-gray accents to the dress, but overall, as my brilliant seamstress said as we were talking about it last weekend – we’re basing the color scheme of the dress on my eyes, rather than some random colors I pick from a Martha Stewart Paint fan.

Here’s a few gray gowns that inspired me to choose that hue:

So….what do you think?

Now to figure out what to do with hair and makeup….and SHOES.  I forgot about shoes.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yes, we have been productive

  1. Jen says:

    Well, Fluevog has some lovely grey-trimmed Operettas if you like that sort of thing… 🙂
    http://www.fluevog.com/code/?w=family%3AOperettas&p=7&pp=1&view=detail&colourID=2165

  2. Drew says:

    ok, so i was facebook stalking a bit and made my way over here…this post made me think of a sewing blogger from new zealand that i follow who used to design wedding dresses. her most recent post was on a wedding dress she once designed, made up in silver duchess satin/silk: http://buzzybeesworld.blogspot.com/2010/08/gown-for-christine.html
    enjoy!

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      So pretty! =) This is the preliminary sketch of the dress, if you haven’t seen it yet: https://bellecoeurwedding.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/yes/

      There will be adjustments and additions, of course, but that’s the basic shape and style. Ingrid’s making it, and she’s making the details a little deconstructed. I’m excited to start working on it in a few months.

      You can of course openly stalk this blog — I love getting feedback, because I feel like when you’re up to your eyeballs in something, it always helps to have a friend on dry land to let you know how to safely get out.

  3. Ingrid says:

    You know what I just thought about? Have you compared the dove grey with the bridesmaid colors? I’m wondering if our colors should maybe be a bit more washed out as to not clash with the grey? Also, I’m wondering about the gold/bronze accents you talked about for us – again, maybe not so good with the dove grey. We should talk.
    xoxox

  4. Ingrid says:

    Oh, and I just want to make sure you know I totally agree with the dove grey and just want to make sure things get adjusted to compliment you best.

    • Ginger says:

      hmmmm….well, I’ll think on it, maybe grab some paint swatches to help visualize. Also, the gold/brass accents might be ok. Martha’s new fall Weddings mag has some metallic themed shoots and gray + gold doesn’t necessarily equal disaster.

      Good catch, though…we’re not that far into it that we can’t change the metal accents to pewter or something, if necessary. Actually, that might be really nice.

    • Ginger says:

      Oh yes, I totally understand. We can work with the right shade of gray – it might not end up dove, it may be more stormy sea, or something.

      (I knew it was helpful feedback, not criticism!)

  5. Ginger says:

    Actually, looking at the 5th photo down, I think the bold colors will look fine in contrast to say, a neutral gray. I’m liking the pewter accent idea more as I sit here, too.

    We’ll talk about it more and have a firm decision at the BBQ, I think.

  6. Jenny Alsdorf says:

    Hey Ginger! Lovely dresses… I wanted to send you this link of cute stamps from USPS I’ve seen around. It’s a king and queen of hearts, and would go well on wedding-themed correspondence. (It may be too late for Save the Dates, but you could always use them for the invites):

    https://shop.usps.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10001&storeId=10052&productId=10001827&langId=-1

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Oh, yes I do like those. When I went to our post office they were out of them. The only others they had were purple pansies that said LOVE. Just a little too obvious. =)

      I think we’ll probably still go with the custom stamps for the invites, though, actually. The invite packets will be pretty thick and you can customize the postage so we can put one stamp instead of 15. Thanks for the heads up, though!

Leave a Reply

