read all about it

For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to think of other graphic elements to include in the wedding that would help evoke a vintage vibe.  I didn’t really want to bring in another color (we’ve got plenty of that already!) but it needed to be a graphic sort of texture.  I found what I was looking for in a few blogs and a furniture catalog!

Newsprint!

The "George" room by Serena & Lily

This was the image that really started me off….I loved the seersucker bedding, the non-cheesy-nautical feel of the room, and the playful newspaper hats.  We’ve been planning some crafts and activities for the reception, and a newspaper hat making station would be a simple, fun way to fill a niche while allowing people to get festive!

See how fun they are?

They’ve been made for generations!  The one below is from an 1871 John Tenniel illustration in Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll!

I can’t wait to see everyone in their hats!  It’ll make for great photos!

Another source of inspiration was the wedding blog of Veronica Sheaffer called My Hands Made It.  (She’s also the blogger who inspired the fabric flowers!)

Check out a few of the projects she’s made with newsprint:

Veronica’s wedding is a 1930’s style vintage affair, and she’s made about as much of the wedding details as I am planning to make!  I love how the newsprint just adds to the vintage texture of the whole thing.

Maybe I can use the newsprint in other areas of the decoration?  Mod Podge some to the centerpiece buckets?  Add some newspaper flags to the strings of bunting?

Now to round up some (mostly) black and white newspapers….anyone read the Wall Street Journal? Or any other newspaper?  It might be fun to get some from both Matt’s and my hometown papers.  I’m sure my parents have a bunch of stacks of the Daily O!

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to read all about it

  1. Erin says:

    I wonder if you could set the newspapers in the sun for a while or something to bring out that antique-y color? That might be nifty 😉

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      That’s a cool idea. I’m also thinking about spraying them with a little clearcoat so that people don’t end up with newsprint all over their nice summery dress clothes.

  2. Ingrid says:

    Good idea on the clearcoat… 🙂

  3. veronica says:

    I’m also doing a coating on the boutonnieres – for sure! If you make the pinwheels or whatever and have them anywhere near sun they will start to yellow. If that’s what you’re going for – great! I am not, so I am less thrilled. 🙂

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Good to think about. I think it wouldn’t be too horrible if they yellowed for us, but I’m not sure we’re going to use real newspaper now. My fiance thought we might use plain newsprint so the guests could decorate their hats with felt pens.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

