first attempt

I snagged a few yards of polyester fabric on Friday from the crappy little Jo-Ann Fabrics in Ballard.  I’d wanted to go up to the Lynnwood superstore, since they have so much more selection, but I couldn’t even get on the freeway.

But I was able to make do with what I found – various types of polyester garment linings, chiffon, sateen.  I tried making three flowers:

Red Poppy

Golden Ranunculus

Ivory Peony.....which ended up looking more like a magnolia.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.  I’ll have to make many many more to perfect the process and get exactly the right mix.  I also didn’t have any stamen pearls around, nor could find any at the dinky Jo-Ann, so the centers of some of these will definitely change when I am able to find the right supplies.  Create-For-Less has a small selection of stamen pearls in white, yellow, and black (less than $1 each for a pack of 144!), so I will likely order those if I can’t find them at Michaels, or the super Jo-Ann, this weekend.  No, the button will not stay the ranunculus stamen.  It was all I had at the time.

Singly, these flowers are pretty cute, but it’s when they’re in bouquets that’ll really make them stand out.  Grouped, they just look so much more real!

What do you think?  I already have Danya down to help make more, but we’d love to have more helpers!  I’m not sure when it would be, but at least once this summer, maybe again in the winter, depending on how many we can make.  I probably made each of these in no more than 10 minutes, start to finish.

Also, I need ideas for blue flowers that might work with this process….or an opinion to leave the blue flowers out and just have some navy accents in the bucket bags, or wrapping my bouquet.  Blue flowers are hard….maybe something in a dusty blue, just in my bouquet that should recall the gray-blue that’ll be in my dress?  I’ve got my blue roses in a coke bottle on my kitchen window sill…..somehow I’m not sure Matt would like my Rocky Votolato tribute at our wedding, though. =)

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to first attempt

  1. Erin says:

    LOVE THEM!!!!!! SO GORGEOUS! I can certainly help out with the flower crafting. Just let me know when! 🙂

    Maybe you could create blue Irises? Or just make up some imaginary flower 🙂 It’s your wedding, I think you can make up your own flower if you want to! Though I also like the idea of making the bucket bags blue.

  2. bellecoeurwedding says:

    Yay! Thanks! I should play with the bucket bags and see what I can do there. Navy might look really cute. I could make up a flower (that’s what Matt suggested, too!) but I didn’t really find much polyester blue that I liked. Off to the super Jo-Ann for me!

    I’ll be sure to put you down to help! I’m not sure when yet….Maybe near the end of June? We’re booked solid until the 13th, so that would be a great time to do it.

    We could have the girls over during the day to make flowers, then invite their guys over for a BBQ later in the afternoon? (It’ll more likely happen if I psych myself up for a month in advance!)

  3. Erin says:

    I vote for inviting the guys to help us! The more the merrier 🙂

  4. Kaia says:

    Beautiful! What a great idea 🙂

  5. veronica says:

    Your flowers look incredible! I love the colors – fantastic!

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Thanks for the inspiration! I didn’t know what I was going to do while trying to figure out the flowers a year in advance!

Leave a Reply

