lantern options

I mentioned lanterns for the bridesmaids in my last post.  I can’t seem to find the classic brass ones I have in my head, so here are some options I’m looking at:

These two black options are from Save-on Crafts, which is a ridiculous online resource for all DIY wedding stuff.  Seriously, check them out. The first one is 8″ tall and $9 each, while the tapered square ones are 6″ tall and $13 for a set of three.  I’d need at least 5.

Basic Black

Even more basic black

Not so basic - blue, red and green

The Ikea option in black


The next 5 lanterns are my favorites from IKEA, which had several other options.  I’d spotted them the last time we were there, picking up pieces to hack a pole mount for our LCD TV.  Ours will have a fabric sleeve over the pole that matches a chair I just reupholstered, and another IKEA hacked low shelf for our Home Theater PC and cable box.  (Think ball & claw feet, a fabric lined shelf, and painted moulding meet Mosjö.)

Anyway….I just loved the simple lines and low price of these lanterns.  They come in an 11″ height for $7 each, or a 17″ height for $15.  They also happen to come in every one of my wedding colors except yellow.  But there is a galvanized option that can easily be spray painted.

I am leaning toward the 11″ jobbies, but I’m not sure what I’d have inside them – flowers or candles, or something else – but I can see my special wedding ribbon (which I need a better photo of) being used to decorate them.  I can also change it up as to which color bridesmaid carries which color lantern, or have them match.  I don’t really care.  That’ll be up to them.

What do you think?

My PhotoShopped version....

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to lantern options

  1. Ingrid says:

    I vote for flowers in them – maybe just one big one. Also – I think they should all be black or white – it might get to be too many colors if they alternate…

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Good thoughts, all. Makes good sense. I really wanted all brass ones, but if I can’t find those, I’ll probably go with black. =)

  2. Erin says:

    The Ikea lanterns are nice, but I think they might be a bit more modern than what you’re going for (from my understanding). I also noticed that they don’t have candle holder circle thingies, which might be a contributing factor for you to consider if you want to put candles in them.

    I love the criss-cross detail on the second option from the top! So there’s my pick from the choices above! 🙂

    I can’t decide if having the lanterns match the bridesmaids’ dresses would be awesome or too matchy-matchy. Just something for you to consider.

    You also might want to check out Cost Plus World Market for more lantern options. I know that often they have some pretty cool ones in stock (though they might cost a little more than the options above, which are surprisingly cost effective I might add!)

    OK, you asked for thoughts, so there are mine! Just a disclaimer that I will in no way be offended if you think what I have to say is crap 🙂 This is totally all about you & I know it’s going to be awesome whatever you do!!!!

    ❤ Erin 🙂

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      I’m into the modern lines….the wedding will have a modern graphic element to it. Whatever goes in them will be anchored in some way, so I’m not bothered about the no cup thing. Since it’ll be in the afternoon, I doubt I’ll have candles in them anyway.

      I will check out Cost Plus. We have a couple of Moroccan lamps from there and we like them a lot. Hard to find them consistently in stock, and hard to shop online, though.

      Yes, I did ask for opinions, and I am in no way offended by you giving yours! I may not always go along with what other people have suggested, but I welcome help because I may not know about everything (gasp!) or have thought about all the sides of a subject. I appreciate everyones opinions. Really. =)

  3. Stef says:

    I like the top-top ones. They’re vintage, like sleepy hollow type lanterns, without invoking the “running from the headless horseman” kind of thing. I think the setting of your wedding is so classic that a modern lantern might be a bit odd.

  4. Ingrid says:

    Also, I agree with Erin about my favorite lantern…there’s just something a little softer about it

Leave a Reply

