bum ruffles

I have decided I want bum ruffles on my wedding dress.

On the way home from Portland today, I got bored and started actually reading the Martha Stewart Weddings issue I picked up for road reading.  I found great bum ruffle inspiration here:

Maybe not quite as huge as this one, but it made me want to have a ruffly bum.  I love the shape of this dress, and can see it being used as inspiration for my own.  That said, I need some sleeves.  I loathe my upper arms and would like some elbow length sleeves (they can be sheer, even) to make me feel more comfortable.  But the bodice of this dress is nice, too — very similar to what Ingrid had initially sketched out many months ago:

Cute, huh?

Also, I have found a lovely color that I would like to have in the dress (maybe most of the dress?).  It’s that same blue-gray I posted about before, but now it’s easier to see, since it’s not on shoes:

From a 1947 ad for Vogue Patterns

Elizabeth Banks and Rachel Weisz wear a couple of other options....

Anyway….I am still thinking cotton rather than chiffon, and maybe having the bum ruffles made from alternating textures (seersucker! swissdot!) and/or prints with the blue-gray (stripes! windowpane plaid!).

There was A LOT of wedding talk while we drove around all over the Columbia Gorge this weekend.  Aside from becoming inspired by bum flounces, we’ve figured out a few more things:

1. Bridesmaids will hold brass lanterns instead of bouquets.

2. We’ll have sail shades rigged in the trees to denote the “altar” and a couple of large anchors to set the stage.

3. Instead of ordering salmon and chicken from a restaurant or caterer, we’re going to have home-smoked salmon and cold grilled chicken, both of which we can (and MUST) prepare ahead!

4. Matt’s talking about seersucker suits….

Yay for progress!  Now to hammer out the essentials so we can get started on the work!

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to bum ruffles

  1. Ingrid says:

    I still need to get you that book I found on Victorian and Edwardian wedding dresses…I think you’ll find a lot of inspiration in there as well.
    xo

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Yes, that would probably be helpful. I think my problem is that there are too many options. And I’m picky as hell. =)

  2. Ingrid says:

    I’ll wait a while yet before I start sketching again… 🙂

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      =) I’m sure I’ll be sending you sketches as well….I might have ideas about shapes and things, but have no clue how to make the shapes work in fabric, in a coherent overall shape, or in a flattering way. I am so glad you’re making my dress, though. I think I would be really obnoxious to someone who hasn’t known me since we were 12.

  3. Ingrid says:

    That’s possible… 🙂

Leave a Reply

