a slight adjustment

You may have noticed that the title of this blog has changed slightly.  Matt and I, having explored heraldic symbolism and our own imaginations, have decided that while “The Knot and Anchor” sounds cool, it didn’t quite work for us.  The Sail and Anchor, however, makes a little more sense with our personalities and our roles in our relationSHIP.

Yes, it’s cheesy, but it’ll look really good on the coat of arms we’re designing for our wedding logo.

We’re working on projects at home (lots of upholstery, trips to IKEA, and staples in fingers), and getting ready to take my little sister (and bridesmaid) Audrey on her birthday/high school graduation trip tomorrow.  Progress has been made on the wedding, though:

1.  Our candles for the reception tables have been decided.  They’re going to be rolled natural beeswax sheet candles, set in hardware store glass jelly-jar light sconces, weighted in place with coarse sea salt.  I tested one, and a 4″ candle lasts about 4 hours exactly, which will be perfect for our reception.  I’m not going to order the wax sheets until next spring, since they can crack if shipped during the winter months, and I don’t really want 50 candles hanging around in my house for a year, with the possibility of getting cracked.

2.  I think I’ve found a source for the wooden sailboat kits.  Michaels craft store, of all places, for only $1 each!  I still need to figure out how we’ll present them – little paper bags with our wedding logo stamped on them?  baskets of each piece set out on the table?  Also, do we really want tons of those little paint sets out?  The paint is crappy, and the brushes horrible! Maybe paint pens would be better?  Or just markers?  I don’t really like the sails the kits come with, so I’ll probably change those out anyway.

3.  The first thing that we actually have to do is send out save-the-date notices.  We’ve got our date picked, but we haven’t decided on the best way to send the word out.  I’ve been thinking about silkscreened handkerchiefs or flags, postcards, magnets, etc.  I’m just kind of at a loss.  Ideas please!  I want something fun and memorable and different, but not another piece of junk people don’t want around the house!

4.  We’ve decided that we’re going to do a few photoshoots for our posed photos, with different photographers (friends and family, mostly), so we can have a variety of shots, locations, outfits, moods, etc.  I figure it’s the best chance to get me in photos as an adult, because I hate having my photo taken SO MUCH.

5. My ideas for my dress are all up in the air again.  I loved Ing’s first draft, but was afraid it was too fussy to really be me.  I still love Lizzie Bennett’s dress, but I’m wavering.  To what, I dunno.  If I do end up going with something at least inspired by Lizzie Bennett’s dress, I think I’ve finally narrowed down the underdress color: it’ll either be a cool light gray-blue, or a dove gray.  I’m also loving the idea of wedges for my shoes, like the ones below in an image from Saltwater (a UK clothier, who unfortunately doesn’t sell the shoes).  If anyone can track down these blue-gray t-strap wedges with cork soles, I will love you forever.  I wear a size 8.5-9 in shoes. (Yes, I have contacted the company, and have not received a reply yet.)

from this spring's catalog

Also, I love her hair.  I’ve seen this model somewhere before, and I think we are kindred hair spirits.  We both have wide faces with pointy chins and wideset eyes, plus thick, wavy hair.  Every time I see her in a catalog, I am reminded why bangs are awesome and it makes me rethink growing mine out.  Don’t you agree?  My hair is actually almost that long now….hard to believe, but it’s true!  I’ll have another 8 inches by the wedding, minus a few trims!

from last fall's catalog

Anyway….it’s hard to focus on planning the wedding when there are so many other distractions.  I am glad we have 16 more months to do it, but I think we’re going to have to really finalize the important details (guest list and headcount, wedding logo that will be on everything) before we can start in earnest.

We also have to find a day-of photographer I don’t hate.

Sigh!

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a slight adjustment

  1. yvonne says:

    rolled beeswax candles are so pretty!!!

  2. Erin says:

    For Save the Date notices, I really appreciate magnetic save-the-dates. It’s easy to put up in a place you see every day. I know it’s not a terribly original idea, but it’s practical & you could print absolutely whatever you want on them.

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Good to know! Most people have fridges or file cabinets or something….Of course, we have one of those dumb first generation stainless jobbies that magnets don’t stick to, so perhaps my opinion has been skewed. I think whatever we do, we’ll have an element that will be an easy reminder, and maybe we’ll make wooden coin magnets or something. =) Thanks for reading this and giving suggestions! It really helps!

Leave a Reply

