Out of the doldrums…

We really have been planning.  I swear.

Matt and I were pretty exhausted after all the activity through the fall, leading into our wonderful holiday season (highlights included a Hawaiian Christmas party with my family, and a week of precious visiting with Matt’s family in Massachusetts).

We made a couple of decisions in early January – our venue, our official date, and to be completely bonkers and self-cater about 75% of the reception.  We’ve since been brainstorming about:

The Menu: it’s going to be a summery mix of Mediterranean and Scandinavian foods – think chickpea salad and dill salmon, vegan falafel wraps and crab cakes for the carnivores, rosemary-lemon chicken and lingonberry cheesecake. I’m going to try to get a hold of some crayfish for a corn/tomato salad, and there will be lots of Moroccan Mint iced tea.  I’ll need volunteers to try out my recipes for the dry run this summer…let me know if you’re interested!

The Music: we’re trying to keep the feeling of the day light and whimsical and fun, with a slight seafaring vibe.  Our (very short) playlist at this point includes The Decemberists, A Fine Frenzy, Camera Obscura, Nouvelle Vague, and Rocky Votolato.

The Decor: is all about simplicity and fun.  LOTS of pennant bunting, sailcloth, hand-rolled beeswax candles, and birch branches.  I have no clue what flowers will be involved.  I need help with that.  I’m currently digging yellow crespedia (below) and white hydrangeas.  What’s available (and cheap) in August???

The Activities: including badminton, ring toss, miniature boat building.  More to come…

And lots more of course.

If you know me well, you’ll not be surprised that I have about 7 legal pads full of notes about wedding ideas and plans.  I’ve finally purchased a binder for all of the solid decisions.  As soon as we’ve decided on something, it’ll get printed out nicely in uniform worksheet format and put in its respective section in the binder, so that when it comes time to get everything ready, we’ll have a checklist and instructions and details totally ready to go.

It really helps that Matt is getting excited to make plans and start working on the projects.  We’re soon going to be getting together some boxes where we can put all of the finished projects, and then actually start to make some of the things on the list.  We would love some help as we go along.  We’ll feed and water you if you come help us with decorating the table cloths, or roll some of those candles, or help build the photo booth.

I’ll keep you posted…

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of the doldrums…

  1. Erin B says:

    Croquet would totally be awesome as well 🙂

    I’m here to help with whatever you need!!!!

    ❤ Erin

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      I’ll have to think about that one….the park is on a slope and I wouldn’t want to bean some poor seal with a croquet ball! Thanks for the idea, and the offer to volunteer! I will take you up on that in the coming months, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

