Venue/Menu visits this weekend!

This weekend, Matt and I will be visiting the venues I wrote about in the previous post.  We’ll be taking photos, writing copious notes, and may even choose the winner…

We’ll also be visiting Fireweed Catering – one of the only best catering companies on the island.  They have a venue they use for weddings, but I’m leaning away from it because it’s not within sight of water.  Mostly we’re going so we can check out menus and see if their flavors will work for us.  Currently we’re thinking buffet-style BBQ with NW seafood and fresh vegetarian options. I kind of hate the idea of having fake meat on the menu at all.  If the veggies can’t stand alone, then it isn’t worth having the fake meat to fill it out.  I definitely want salmon (baked, grilled, or smoked, I don’t care), and I’d love to have sweet corn and heirloom tomatoes featured somewhere.
I LOVE the food at Carmelita – they almost NEVER use fake meat and the whole menu is vegetarian or vegan, and season specific.  I wonder if I can get them to cater all the vegetarian food and most of the side dishes and just have someone else do the salmon and other non-veggie items…..

Anyway….there hasn’t been a ton of planning since I last posted, but here’s what we’ve been thinking about:

  • I’m leaning more toward a simpler dress design, with many of the details Ingrid invented – like the deconstructed striped trim.  I think I’d be more comfortable in a dress similar to Lizzie Bennet’s, with the removable overdress for the reception. (Ing – we’ll talk more about this soon, but since we’re not really starting the dress for a while, I figure we’re fine on time for now.)
  • Talking to Matt’s brother Dan and his wife, Tara, over vacation in Massachusetts was really helpful.  They helped us figure out how to combine the three most awkward parts of the wedding day into one activity to keep it all decidedly fun and un-awkward:  the receiving line, the cocktail hour, and posed photos with the bride and groom and each of the guests.  It’ll be awesome, and involve props.  =)
  • Two of my bridesmaids have chosen their dress colors! Ingrid will be red, and Danya will be navy.  Alexa is still deciding between green and black….and I still need to figure out who the last two ladies will be.  Who looks good in mustard yellow?  I need a yellow lady!

Anyway….Matt and I are pretty excited to go over to Whidbey this weekend.  It’ll be a nice break after 3 birthday parties in 36 hours.  Weren’t we going to try to NOT plan so much every month?  Oh well.  =)

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Venue/Menu visits this weekend!

  1. Ingrid says:

    You get to have whatever dress you want 🙂

  2. Ingrid says:

    Also, I got a book we should look at together – it’s all Edwardian wedding dresses 🙂

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Cool! We need to get together soon! When are you free this month? Are you doing anything for your birthday?

      • Ingrid says:

        Probably not doing much for my birthday. After the first full week of school and homework is over, I’ll have a better idea of how Jan. will look…

  3. Danya says:

    Yeah navy!!

Leave a Reply

