Update: The MV Skanksonia

So, as you may be able to decipher from the title of this post, the MV Skansonia will not be our wedding venue.

In theory it sounds great – 1920’s ferry boat about a mile from home, included catering, and a nice Lake Union setting.

My complaints:

– The decor looked like an overzealous rich Atlanta housewife had been the stylist.  Lots of over-sized, over-stuffed, over-gilded furniture in inexplicable places all over the boat.

so many faux antiques....

Sooooo many faux antiques!

– 150 guest minimum on a summer Saturday night.  We were hoping for around 75 guests.  We can have it, but we’d have to pay for 150.

– The menu was fine, but overpriced and stuffy.  Plus, we’d have to bring our own beverages.  Not exactly full-service.

– The processional takes place in a cramped, closed, STEEP staircase leading from the upper deck to the front car deck (which looked MUCH bigger in the photos).  A giant gangplank reduces the front deck ceremony site by at least 30%.  Lame.

– The view is great – for about a 30˚ fan of the panorama.  The rest is taken up by pseudo industrial boat storage yards, the Chihuly Boat House, Ivar’s, and the I-5 ship canal bridge.

– The deck where the ceremony, dining room, and dance floor would be located slants to either side.  Kinda gave me vertigo.

 

It just didn’t feel right FOR US.  I’m sure that they have put on beautiful weddings, but I just felt uncomfortable the whole time we were there.  Gotta find something that’ll work for our personalities.  We’re still looking for a maritime setting, but something that we can customize to our tastes and work with on a lower-key level will be best.

Anyone know someone with a house on a lake, Puget Sound beach, or other body of water we might be able to rent for a weekend?

 

This entry was posted in Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Update: The MV Skanksonia

  1. Mary says:

    It’s not quite what you were envisioning, but what about the Bathhouse at Golden Gardens?

    http://www.seattle.gov/PARKS/reservations/goldengardens.htm

    Or scenic Port Gamble?

    http://www.portgambleweddings.com/default.asp?ID=6

    Or Roche Harbor?

    http://www.rocheharbor.com/weddings_venues.html

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      These are good options….but we have looked at them already. Here’s our reasoning behind not going with them:

      1. Golden Gardens bathhouse is very public. Call me a snob, but I don’t want to get married where the general public are going to be milling about. Frat boys with acoustic guitars and Belltown bimbos sunbathing do not add to the romantic atmosphere.

      2. Port Gamble is adorable. And expensive. Very expensive. And a pain in the ass to get to. And did I mention, very expensive?

      3. Roche Harbor is super cute, but it’s really annoying to get to as well. I’d prefer to keep it down to one ferry and within an hour of driving.

      4. Orcas Island is just as annoying to get to. I think I can do Whidbey, Bainbridge, Vashon or Anderson Islands without too much difficulty, but San Juans are out.

      I don’t mean to shoot them all down….I’m just VERY particular.

      Thanks for thinking of us!

  2. Mary says:

    Here’s another pretty one:

    http://www.rosarioresort.com/weddings.aspx

    I’m guessing most of my suggestions would be on the pricey side, but they sure are pretty.

  3. Ginger says:

    Cool! thanks for the info. I think we’ve got our hearts set on the private house I posted about, but it’s good to know about the local vendors.

  4. Mary says:

    For some reason I thought that house was more of an idea than a viable option. It is a gorgeous place, isn’t it? I can’t believe their rates!

    I’m eager to help out–hence the overly zealous response to this post!

  5. Ginger says:

    Oh yeah! It started out as an idea, but we kinda fell in love with it. The rates are fantastic. If we do it in August, like we are planning, we’ll need to rent the whole week. Luckily, I’ve already got some family interested in staying there for a few days prior to the wedding, and it’ll offset the cost of the week-long rental. We’re going to get in touch with the owner before Christmas and see if we’re even allowed to use it for a wedding, but I think it could be our venue!

    Thanks for volunteering to help! I’m sure I’ll have some crafty projects for decor coming up over the next 20 months that I could use you for!

    =)

Leave a Reply

