As promised…

Matt hated the idea of “wedding colors.”  He preferred a “wedding theme.”  I agreed, but it will make things a hell of a lot easier to find and choose for decorations, etc, if we have a color scheme in mind — fitting into this theme.

To jog your memories, our theme is Edwardian/Victorian Maritime.  Think 1900s – early 1930s.  A little bit of Art Nouveau, and a whole lot of anchors and brass buttons.  This may get slightly adjusted the closer we get to actually locking this in (I have a feeling we’re going to start leaning toward Art Deco, W.R. Hearst, and Jeeves and Wooster era maritime) but the colors will help to do so.

So, these are the colors we picked for the wedding.  Matt had to be sold on the yellow, but it’s my color, so it had to be in there.  Oddly enough, shortly after we finalized the colors (which are seen below in Ralph Lauren paint chips) I found some striped grosgrain ribbon at Jo-Ann Fabrics that exactly matched.  I don’t have the ribbon with me to scan it now, but I’ll post a photo when I do.  Every time I go to a Jo-Ann now (which is usually at least once a week) I buy all the rolls of it I can find, since I don’t know how long they’ll stock it.  I have 10 rolls currently in my wedding projects box in my studio.

The ideas behind these colors are that they’re traditional “preppy” maritime colors (reminiscent of New England regattas and all that), they’re strong colors (Matt’s big on color — have you seen our bathroom?!?), and they’re colors that aren’t too trendy.  No offense to anyone who’s had these colors, but if I see another aqua and chocolate brown wedding I think I’ll hurl.

wedding colors

Another great thing about having so many colors is that I can have my attendants wear a dress in each of the colors.  I’m planning on asking each of them to pick one of the colors (except the antique white, which is what I’ll be wearing, of course)  and wear it in a simple cotton dress of their choosing.  That way, they get to wear a color that’s flattering to them, a dress they can wear again, and it doesn’t have to be $150 from David’s Bridal (my idea of hell).  I’ll be making headbands and jewelry for them, to tie them together, and we can discuss shoes when it makes sense to.  Maybe I should be more bridezilla and make everyone wear gold shoes?  Maybe force them into mary jane flats so I look taller in my heels?  Hehehe.

Opinions?

About Ginger

Hello! My name is Ginger. I'm 27 and I live in Seattle with my fiancée Matt and his cat, Arthur. Find me in my kitchen, trying to incorporate pine nuts into more recipes, at Pacific Fabrics - drooling over prints in the home dec department, walking home through Woodland Park Zoo, or sipping aquavit in Ballard. Check out my food blog at ginbelle.worpress.com
This entry was posted in Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to As promised…

  1. Mary says:

    Not aqua and brown–apple green and hot pink.

    I love your pallette. With brass? That’ll be hot.

  2. Ingrid says:

    So who are me fellow attendants?

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      I don’t know yet….I’ve got a couple of people in mind, but I think I’m going to plead the 5th until next year, when I have had time to think of it.

  3. Erin B says:

    Love the colors! My only tidbit of advice is that you might want to consider wearing flats instead of heels because you’re going to be running around like a crazy lady in your shoes all day 🙂

    P.S. Have you chosen a location?

    • bellecoeurwedding says:

      Oh yes, I’ll be buying a set of both flats and heels and have no qualms about changing between the ceremony and the reception. Actually, there’s a costume change planned there, too, so it would make sense. =)

  4. bellecoeurwedding says:

    Ah, and no location yet. We’re researching stuff now.

  5. Ingrid says:

    Well, then I guess that means I just get first choice of color 😉

  6. Ingrid says:

    Red, please. I’m thinking with ivory piping and a very sailoresque design. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

