Inspiration, schminspiration

So, our engagement wasn’t a complete surprise.  We’d been heading in that direction for a while, and I (the impatient cow of the relationship) wanted to start thinking about the wedding before it was even official.  That way, some key decisions could be made, ideas entertained, and things pared down for the real planning stage.  And actually, I’m glad we started the discussion early.

After reading lots of blogs (soon to be listed at the right) and browsing Etsy for hours on Saturday mornings, I figured we’d have to find a theme that we could both get into to help us with the planning process.  As soon as we had that, it would be much easier to choose colors, styles, venue, etc.  Matt and I are fortunately (or unfortunately) passionate about everything.  Give us a theme, any theme — like the circus, or water polo, or the French Revolution — and we’d have a ton of fun making it come together with clever details.  I’ve always felt that it is only when given restrictions or strict guidelines that creativity can really flourish.

Knowing that we were planning the event for 2 years in the future, I wanted to pick something timeless, something we’d still be into in 2011, something that wasn’t too trendy.  So out went the woodland/faux bois, the Portland-esque hipster bicycles, and the brown+pastel color theme.  We needed something that combined the heritage of both places we came from, something that would be classy even at our 20th anniversary, and something that would allow our imaginations to run wild.  

So we chose:  Victorian Maritime.  Less steampunk, more steamship.  Perhaps with a twist….

Probably not with sea monsters, but you never know....

Our wedding will probably not include sea monsters, but you never know....

Matt was wary at first, but he let it stew for a bit and is now completely on board.  We do like our boating, maritime history is rich in both Puget Sound and Cape Cod, and we’d get to wear awesome costumes.  And though the nautical look is pretty trendy at the moment, when is it not in style?  If you don’t let it get too kitschy, it’s always classy, has been around for a few hundred years, and with a decidedly Victorian bent, it’ll be more historical than trendy.  Fashion and wedding bloggers agree: “Nautical never really goes out of style.”

Above all, it has to be non-obnoxious.  We’re not going to work sailing references into our vows or have my bridesmaids in sailor hats with veils.  

1887_Nautical Style

Anyway….here’s my list of inspirational things to help me set the scene:

Carousel (the Rodgers & Hammerstein musical — no carousel horses or anything, just late 1800’s whaling village)

Moby-Dick (Herman Melville had no idea how he has touched our lives.  Stay tuned for our sofa reupholstery project!)

The Decemberists (mostly album illustration, but they have such good Victorian tales woven into their songs!)

Maritime Museums (when doing thesis research a few years ago, for a now-dead thesis topic, I spent two days at Mystic Seaport in Connecticut, going through their collections storage.  It was awesome and beautiful and amazing.)

 

More later….I’ll update this when I have my inspiration notebook in front of me.

 

 



About Ginger

Hello! My name is Ginger. I'm 27 and I live in Seattle with my fiancée Matt and his cat, Arthur. Find me in my kitchen, trying to incorporate pine nuts into more recipes, at Pacific Fabrics - drooling over prints in the home dec department, walking home through Woodland Park Zoo, or sipping aquavit in Ballard. Check out my food blog at ginbelle.worpress.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

